LOL

IN high school there was a time where I had gotten a slew of driving tickets. Naturally, I thought none of them were my fault and that the cops were keeping me from pursuing my fast and furious ambitions. Tickets are not cheap. My job at the time was to go to school and keep up my avid workout schedule for basketball. This itinerary often left me very, very, very broke. My parents had made it clear that they were not about to pay for any traffic tickets and that I would have to figure it out on my own. That only left one horrible option for me to endure, community service. Just that phrase alone will make a high school student groan. For the next two weekends, Saturday and Sundays from 6am to 3pm I was scheduled to work for the city of Pomona. The check in on Saturday morning gave me a clue as to how my experience would be. I saw a group of kids my age standing around looking quite disconnected and tired, so I began to gravitate towards them. Given the fact that we were all boys, naturally they had begun to brag about why they had to be here. One said, “ I stole gallons of spray paint from Home Depot and have been running an illegal paint store” Another said, “I was expelled from school for selling drugs on campus” The guy closest to me added that he had recently stabbed someone and this was the last weekend of his service hours. Now, all eyes turned to me, it was my chance to show how hardcore I was. “Yea, I ran a red light, but it was REALLY RED!!!” I said in my deepest voice possible. Silence for a while, that was the last time anyone asked me anything. I was given the job of trash collector.
I had to change every single trashcan, and clean every single bathroom in every park in the city of Pomona.
After I had done 3, I began to get sad. So frustrated at myself for getting  the tickets and mad at my parents for not helping me with these stupid tickets(i would later thank them). I began to acquire a trash scent and everyone in the van was looking at me like I had just farted. It was humiliating. I wore an orange vest and everything. I thought, if it’s just these couple of parks I would be alright. “I can tough my way through it”, i thought. Little did I know that the city of Pomona had 37 parks ready for me to clean. It was now the second Saturday, and by this point the flies and I were on a first name basis.  I prayed all day for God to give me the strength to keep going but it just wasn’t working. There was so much trash; I cleaned up crack needles, toilet paper, diapers, and anything you could imagine. Then it happened. I walked into what I thought was going to be like any other bathroom that I had cleaned. I proceeded to walk in to the stall when I noticed something dark around the walls. I turned on the light. To my surprise it literally looked as though someone’s butt had exploded all over the toilet and to be all that it could be, it also left its signature on the walls. Staring at my tiny sponge and thin rag I knew this could make or break me. I started to laugh. I started to really laugh, the kind of laugh that you can’t control, the almost near crazy laugh. I walked outside and grabbed my knees and just lost it in laughter. This has got to be the funniest thing I have ever seen I thought. Look at where I am right now, all of my friends are out enjoying life, and here I am staring at a lost battle with chili cheese fries.
Somehow after that outburst, I was able to center myself. I knew that there was going to be an end to this episode in my life. After my laugh of liberation, I was able to work harder, work better, and was able to be a light to others.
Laughter makes things better.
Doctors have concluded that laughter lowers blood pressure; it makes us live longer and helps us make better decisions. It has also been known to strengthen the immune system, giving power to the hormone known as the “youth hormone” which helps combat cancerous cells. Studies have shown that laughter makes the mind more creative. We can all remember a time when a certain project needed to get done or assignment finished and if it wasn’t for laughter, we would have run out of gas. Laughter makes people more receptive to what we have to say and it strikes down our defenses. Laughter is Gods gift of healing to us, “ A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones”-Prov 17:22.
It is essential that we find time to joke and play. Whether its setting aside time to watch our favorite funny show, or just being more vulnerable to being goofy, I guarantee you will be more joy filled and positive towards life. We must be able to get to a point where we take our calling seriously, our work seriously, but we don’t have to always take ourselves so seriously. We have to be able to laugh at the things we do at times, it shows humility and it reaffirms our humanity. Be cautious of people who cannot laugh at themselves, their insecurities may be detrimental to you and others around them. If you can, show someone that it’s alright to laugh at the ridiculous things in life. Today, be receptive to the joy that God has for us through laughter. Blessings
Love.
Justin
Where are some areas where i have to lighten up a bit?
What parts of my life need have more joy introduced to them?
What are some small steps i can make that will bring more joy and laughter in my life?
P.S.  Maybe these will help (but probably not) lol.
I use to date a girl with really nasty feet, I mean they were awful. She would always complain that I never told her any jokes, “ baby you never tell me any jokes” she would say. I said, I would tell you jokes, but I am afraid I’d knock your socks off!
Did you hear that Al Queda had found a new replacement?
Apparently its Osamas fast driving nephew, Osama Bin Diesel
I knew a guy who was so poor, he got married for the rice!
I hate it when my foot falls asleep during the day, that means it’s going to be up all night
I asked my doctor what the difference was between an oral thermometer and a rectal thermometer. He said, “the taste”.
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
I knew a girl so ugly, I took her fishing and they asked what I used for bait.
My therapist told me I was going crazy, “I said if you don’t mind I’d like a second opinion”. He said, “alright, you’re ugly too!”
I told my dentist that my teeth were going yellow. He told me to where a brown necktie
3 thoughts on “LOL

  1. “but it was REALLYY RED” HAHAHA!!!! I totally envisioned you doing this! lol.

    even just a simple smile can make you feel happier! thanks for this J!

Leave a Reply

