Calls from SUMO

Last week I got a call from my brother, Sumo. Typically, our phone calls are short and straight to the point. This time, however, he had some great news to share. To my best recollection, this is the exact conversation that we had:

Me: What Up?

Sumo: Yo

Me: Whatcha doin?

Sumo: Nothing

Me: Nice, what did you do earlier?

Sumo: Just chilled

Me: Nice, where at?

Sumo: Church man, just left.

Me: Dope man, how was it tonight?

Sumo: Really Good

Me: Nice, what did pastor speak on?

Sumo: Man, I got some awesome news today!

Me: Yea, what happened?

Sumo: So, I got asked to DJ this event at this church….

Me: Uh, huh

Sumo: …And the pastor of the church called me and told me about the event, they are having like a huge sporting style ceremony. Man, real talk, this event sounds dope.

Me: Right, right

Sumo: So anyways, the Pastor, told me all about the event, and I said, “sure I’d love to do it”.

Me: Nice, when is it?

Sumo: But check this out…

Me: Yeah

Sumo: The pastor says, “ Hey, I just want you to know that you come highly recommended. Someone that used to work with you said that you do a great job, and that you really love God”

Me: Whoa!

Me: What an amazing compliment, man

Sumo: Right!? I feel like that was the best thing anyone could ever say about me. I mean it’s one thing to say I do a good job, but to say that he heard, “I really love God”, man…I’m on a high right now!

Sumo: I feel so humbled.

(Conversation continue as conversations do)

The apostle Paul when writing his letter to the Philippians expresses a similar sentiment.
Paul opens his letter to them by saying, “ I thank my God every time I remember you”. This humbling image speaks to the idea that Paul’s first reaction when thinking of these people was to immediately, thank God for them.

Made me start to think, When a former co-worker talks about me, do they rave about how much I love God?

When my name comes up amongst friends, do they immediately say that they are “thankful” for me?

I would hope that they would say those things. But I don’t want to just hope. I’d rather be unmistakably disciplined about living my life in a way, that a person’s first thought of me would be one I could be proud of. My brother, Sumo, and the Philippians are both painting a picture of what the Gods desire for our lives is all about.

The answer to those questions matter, deeply. Living your life in a way where you are being a living example of what it means to be one with God. What an amazing, exhilarating, and humbling thought; that when people think of you, they think of God.

“ Are we beginning to commend ourselves again? Or do we need, like some people, letters of recommendation to you or from you? You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everybody.”-2 Cor 3:2

We need to live our lives in such a way where we can move from having to tell people about our love for God to a place where our love and commitment can plainly be seen in the way that we live.

What would be the first thought someone would have about you?

Love.
Justin

Leave a Reply

